A pregnant Pause…. 8 month pause

IMG_0161_2I am currently 34 weeks pregnant here, closing up my 8th month. It’s true, I’ve got a 5.5 baby on board. It is easy to get scared about taking a trip this late in pregnancy. Some of the most common fears seem to be:

  • I can’t ride the rides- not true.
  • My feet will swell and hurt- true but you can do things to make it better.
  • I won’t be able to keep up with my family- true but you get to do other things and be a valuable member of the ticket collection crew.
  • All I’m going to be doing is eating- Semi true… eating and peeing.

I was really sad that I couldn’t go on Star Tours but whenever my family would go and ride the ride, I would write a small piece of my blog which helped me kill time and decide what to write. Other than that, I really did enjoy my time at Disneyland and Cali Adventures as a full on preggers.

Some things to consider:

IMG_3764

Water- not only do you need to drink the normal amount of water for a regular person but you will have to account for heat (if in the summer), pregnancy and extra exercise (walking and standing). According the Mayo clinic:  Women need 2.2 liters (about 9 cups) of total beverages a day and if you are a pregnant women drink 2.3 liters (about 10 cups) of fluids daily and women who breast-feed consume 3.1 liters (about 13 cups) of fluids a day.

Now lugging that amount of water into the park would be nuts because: 1 liter of water weighs about 2.25 lbs, that would be a 5 pound weight! Or 6-12 oz Dasani bottles of water from Disneyland carts which would cost you, $18 for one day.

This handy dandy water bottle is amazing! It’s the Brita water bottle filter, so you don’t have to bog down your family with the weight of your water, you save big bucks and you don’t have worry too much about the funky taste from the water fountains. I would say that most of the water fountains had cool water, not cold but the water from the bathroom sinks was colder.

IMG_0022_2I’m so emotional- I broke down more on this trip than I thought I would. I was weeping at the boutique seeing my baby so excited. I was weeping at the counter of Goofy’s Kitchen to the poor woman there who just tried to help me. I ALMOST started crying at the counter of guest services when they gave Izzy balloons. I had tears streaming down my face while my family was off riding Mater’s ride because I was so happy that after a day of slow baby movement, my baby started to kick about. You will be emotional but it wasn’t too bad. AND I was only pregnant bitchy once when I was hungry, tired and sick of my daughter being a diva who argued with me.

IMG_0174_2Big as a House- Everyone of the safety bars closed above my belly! See, here’s some proof. If you are a bigger gal, which I have become, you can still make it into the rides. If not, then find bigger rides with those stretchy safety belts. Watch out for those moving sidewalk systems like in Ariel’s underwater adventure and Buzz’s Astroblasters, hold someone’s hand getting off because they are tricky to walk on for regular people.

IMG_4218

Eating- Eat when you can and as often as you can. When they say Disneyland is a pregnant woman’s heaven, they aren’t kidding. Just don’t let your eyes be too big for your stomach because it’s as flat as a Mickey Pancake. Get the small version of everything to be on the safe side. Seriously, you are going to try to eat an ENTIRE turkey leg by yourself because you are starving BUT you won’t finish! I promise you.

We also bought this “mini picnic” meals from Target before we went and they were my savior. They are packed with mini salami cracker sandwiches, peanut butter, chocolate, nuts and fruit. Perfect for snacking and carrying around the park. And your children love them too!.IMG_0213_2

I’ve fallen and I can’t get up- There seems to be a rash of events that require one to sit on the ground: Fantasmic, parades, The Jedi Academy (see me with pink ears) and World of Color. These are especially hard on 3rd trimester moms. a- you have to get down there slowly. b- you need something to sit one so your butt doesn’t explode. c- your legs need to have room in front of you because you can’t sit cross legged anymore (unless you are one of those yoga moms— power to you). d- you need room behind you for your arms because a 90 degree “sit up straight” pose is no longer possible, you are in the arms behind you in a lounging mode. e- now that I’m down here, how do I get up? This is most ungraceful thing you will ever see.

First, you roll over to your hands and knees. Then you grab a rail or anyone who has the strength of a mule to pull you your feet. Grunting and wheezing as you complete the task. AND PRAYING…. please don’t let me fart! It should be a show all on it’s own.

Disneyland actually wanted me to use a wheelchair or one of those scooters but I personally disdain the idea that pregnant women can’t do what others can. I want to show people, “See! Pregnant Woman are just like regular people.” until I am crying like a baby then I want you to look the other way and pretend it never happened. Or when I get food on my belly and I don’t notice.

On the 2nd day, I actually thought about that wheelchair but decided to push through. Turns out it was the type of footwear I was wearing.

WEAR TENNIS SHOES!

Sit down when you can while others ride rides and wait in line.
Enjoy the view because soon you’ll have another one to bring to Disneyland some day and you will remember the time you just sat in the Tiki Room licking a Dole Whip Soft Serve, resting instead of wrangling a kid off the chains in line for Peter Pan’s Flight.

Leave a Reply

