Making Disney pin boards from Canvas boards

I recently read another blog where a person used canvas boards instead of cork boards for showing their pins off. The advantage is that the pins can keep their backings.

It’s summer time and I wanted to feel like I accomplished something so I made these boards.
Items needed:
Canvas boards
2 lids (1 smaller than the other)
2 contrasting colors of paint
pencil
Paintbrushes

I purchased a set of 9 boards from Michael’s and used their 40% off coupon. So, I only ended up paying about $5 for the set.
I used the lids to trace around and make the outline of the Mickey heads.

IMG_2412 IMG_2413IMG_2415

My daughter wanted to start painting before I got to so you can see her red strokes on the picture.

Then, I began to paint the outside of the Mickey head first then the inside after.
IMG_2416 IMG_2417

I tried to do the reverse order on the green board but it seemed harder. I did 3 coats of acrylic paints. I asked my family who was their favorite character and they decided: Classic Mickey, Stitch and Peter Pan. I have a 2 year old who can’t really answer the question so we determined that Minnie will be her favorite.
When they are dry about 1 hour later, pin your pins on them. Watch out for the edges where the wood is, I had to remove the pin backings from those areas.
Here’s the final projects, it was so easy and it had a high nostalgia payout! I was able to relive the reasons I traded the pins as I was doing the boards.
IMG_2422 IMG_2421 IMG_2420

Happy Pinning!

Leave a Reply

